Road Trip?

I’ve never taken a real honest to goodness road trip, though it is on my list of things to do before I die.  I have however spent a great deal of time driving great distances to get from one place to another.  (this is different from a road trip in that on a road trip you don’t necessarily have a set place and time to be).  In these travels I’ve seen some pretty interesting things (interesting to me anyways).  For instance, off of I-75 somewhere in the Ocala, FL area there is a city called Howie-in-the-Hills, FL.  Imagine having to write that out on an envelope.  It would be even worse if you lived off of Walk in-the-Water Rd (which is actually somewhere off of State Road 60).  I don’t know why these things amuse me, but they do.  They give me a little giggle on my otherwise long and painfully boring drives.  Hopefully one day I will put the nearly 20,000 miles a year I drive to good use and take a real road trip!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clinton
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 21:50:00

    I’m going on another road trip next month… you should come

    Reply

  2. Ant
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 00:51:12

    The idea of travel is alluring to me, but road trips not so much.

    The one time I went on the road by myself, I nearly killed myself and a highway patrolman.

    Reply

  3. Jamie
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 03:07:48

    Just think of all of the the funny names of cities and street in the USA that you could visit. Enough to keep you giggling for a long time.

    Reply

  4. Lucina Marinos
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 05:33:04

    Discovered your blog post via bing the other day and absolutely like it. Keep up this fantastic work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,325 hits
