Racist much?

The most rediculous thing happened at work tonight. For those of you who don’t know, I work at a fairly popular restaurant chain.  Tonight, I had a table of two black ladies, a black guy, and a white lady with a baby.  I took all their drink and food orders and brought their food out.  I check to see if they need anything a few times, then I have my trainee bring them some to-go boxes.  One of the black ladies asks my trainee “why you serve the white girl first?”  First, let me state that that is a direct quote.  Secondly, I wish I had been closer to answer ” a) She didn’t serve you, I did. Are you trying to say all white girls look the same? Who’s racist now? b) I gave her her food first because it was on the edge of the tray and I’ve already reached my allowance for dropping stuff this week.”  But alas, I didn’t get to say either of those.  Then, the white lady and the other black lady ask for a cup of juice for the baby.  I say sure and proceed to ask the mother what type of juice.  The first lady pipes in and says “yeah, get it for the little white baby”.  As opposed to all the other invisible babies at the table?! Why do you have to point out the race of the baby when you could just say “the baby” and I’d know exactly who you were talking about?!  I am not a racist, I just hate all stupid people, the color of your skin is your own problem.  Oh, and guess which half of the table tipped me better?  And they wonder why they are stereotyped….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jollof
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 13:01:33

    lol. I kinda feel bad about your ordeal but as a black guy I’m ashamed at the behaviour of ‘that’ lady. I have a friend who has his radar constantly on to detect racist moments but alas HE is usually the one that instigates and insinuates racism, knowingly or unknowingly (pisses me off!).

    Well done on handling yourself and not scratching her eyes out 😀

    Funny post!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 08:58:01

    Why on Earth would this be an issue if they all dined there TOGETHER? People can be such assholes. *hugs* Good job Jenna, I may have “accidentally” dropped something on them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,288 hits
