Save the Drama for Television

I always thought that T.V. and movies over dramatized the way things are in real life (think “Mean Girls”, “The Secret Life of the American Teenager”, “Dawson’s Creek”, etc.) I always watched these shows and thought, “who can relate to these things?!” Even reality TV I always dismissed as completely unrealistic. But apparently I was wrong. Apparently I’ve managed to fly under the drama radar for nearly twenty-five years. I survived all of middle school, high school, and college without ever really having to worry about liars, cheats, and backstabbers. But apparently it really does exist in real life, far more than I ever knew. Maybe it’s because I’m a likable enough person. Maybe since I try to be nice to everyone, they’re generally at least civil towards me. Maybe because I tend to drop friends that prove to be, well, unfriendly. Maybe because I’ve, until recently, always had mostly mature friends and hung mostly around guys I never noticed it, but girls are mean! They are manipulative and vindictive. This is why I could never join a sorority. Also why I never had very many girl friends except my few best friends. I think, at the end of the day, they’re just jealous. Jealous that I can make friends anywhere I go. Jealous that almost everybody, except them, likes me. Jealous that I am free to do as I please without a husband, or boyfriend, or parents, or kids to tie me down. Jealous that I go places and suddenly upgrade to VIP status. At the end of the day my life is filled with AWESOME because I make it that way. Think it will happen, and it will. Everything happens for a reason.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,288 hits
