Rosetta Stone what?

Allora, alors, ثم , so…. for those of you who don’t know me, I like learning languages (have we not already established my high level of nerd?).  And if you saw my post a couple weeks ago (this one) I planned to study the main three I know (French, Italian, and Arabic) on a regular schedule.  Well we all knew that wouldn’t actually happen.  I am, however, refreshing all of my French as I may or may not have claimed to be fluent in it for the sake of getting a job (after twelve years of studying it I should be able to say I am fluent!!!)  Plus, I am teaching one of my friends across the country French, which helps me remember everything too.  (And I have found I enjoy making lessons for it… maybe I would make a good teacher…)

In any case, I long ago discovered that I will never be entirely proficient at anything as once I have learned what I feel is “enough” of something, I get bored.  So instead, I have decided to learn a little bit of EVERY language.  Well, every major language anyways.  Starting with the six languages of the UN (English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, and Mandarin).  If I can learn the five most essential phrases in every language (Hello, Goodbye, Please, Thank You, Excuse Me) I  will consider myself successful.

Mind you this is all a hobby.  You’d think there would be a bigger job market for people with such linguistic skills, but not so much.  At least not that I’ve been able to find.  And no I can’t join the military.  Already checked, too many medical conditions.  (Which, by the way, my “eating healthy” plan did not help but in fact, made worse!)

Anyways, we shall see how it goes.  The problem with self study is I tend to get distracted and then forget everything I have learned.  So if anyone wants to help me with any languages, I will gladly accept (I recently lost my Arabic teacher, so that would be especially helpful)!  I could stand to learn a few curse words too 😉

I do have a method in mind for actually completing this plan, and when I finish I will post the final result!  (Note: I did not say how long this might take…)

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,288 hits
