Haaaaaave You Met Ted?

Remember that post I wrote a few weeks ago? The one about choosing one word to describe yourself? This one here (in case you missed it). I had always used the word “eclectic”, sometimes even “eccentric”, to describe myself. In the post I also decided the word “genuine” would be a good fit. Recently, thanks to my aforementioned watching too much TV, I learned a new word that fits pretty perfectly: “anhedonic”. According to the dictionary, it means “lack of pleasure or of the capacity to experience it”. Basically, it means you’re never happy. Not necessarily in the slit-my-wrists-depressed sort of way, but in the nothingisevergoodenoughalwayssearchingformore kind of way.

an·he·do·ni·a [an-hee-doh-nee-uh]

Noun PsychologyLack of pleasure or of the capacity to experience it.
Origin:
1895–1900; < Greek an- an-1+ hēdon ( ) pleasure + -ia -ia
Related forms
an·he·don·ic [an-hee-don-ik], adjective
Example:

Ted, if you wanted to be married by now you would be but your not and you know why? Because you’re irrationally picky, you’re easily distracted, and you’re utterly anhedonic.”

That’s me!  I mentioned before my personality similarities to Dr. House, but scratch that. I am Ted Mosby. I have only just started watching How I Met Your Mother from the beginning (after a year of harping from my friends), and at least through Season One, I have found what is somewhat the story of my life. Although, if you read this blog, you would probably think that TV is the story of my life. Funny thing is– I don’t watch that much TV. 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,325 hits
