Where do I really belong?

Every time I come “home”, I feel less and less like I belong there.  In my ADD efforts to not do the millions of things on my “To Do” list the other day, I decided to take a bunch of cheesy online quizzes to see in which country I really belong. (Google the subject and you’ll get pages of them, thank you PlayBuzz).

The results were pretty inconclusive, but interesting none the less.

At the top, came in Denmark (3), Italy (3) and India (3).  I already know that I could not live in India, too much dust and dirt and pollution – I’d never breathe again!  And, while I am Italian by heritage, I think it would take a long time to adjust to the “when I get to it” mentality of the bureaucratic country.  Denmark I could definitely see, even though I’ve only ever been in the airport there.

Other considerable options that came up included: New Zealand (if only it weren’t so far from EVERYTHING), Japan (perhaps too formal for my tastes), Sweden (similar to Denmark, but colder), the Netherlands (definitely a possibility, any Dutch friends want to adopt me?!?), South Africa (want to visit, not sure about living there), South Korea (I could actually see this for a few years at least – hello ARTBox!), Canada (duh, eh?), Austria (maybe), Great Britain (been there, could go back), and France (twelve years of French might FINALLY pay off!)

A few that were interesting and possibly way off…. Lithuania (okay, actually I know nothing about the country, maybe it’s like Denmark and Sweden?), Brazil (uh, yeah, no), Ghana (what?!?!?), Burkina Faso (I don’t even know where that is).

So, there you have it folks, don’t believe everything you read on the internet.  But if you too feel out of place where you live, it might open your mind to some places you never considered before!  Also, check out this TED Talk about having many or no homes.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 3,325 hits
